Further to our recent update we now confirm that the Minister for Health announced on the 30th April that an additional five countries/territories would be designated as ‘Category 2’ for the purposes of mandatory hotel quarantine.

The countries being added to the list are:

  • Costa Rica
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Iran
  • Mongolia

The Minister also announced that the designation of the following territories/countries would be revoked (removed) from the list:

  • Bonaire
  • Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • San Marino
  • Wallis and Futuna islands

All those intending to travel to Ireland from or via any of the designated countries/territories, who will arrive in Ireland after 4am on Tuesday 4th May, 2021 are required to book accommodation for mandatory hotel quarantine in advance of travel. The booking portal will be updated to reflect these changes in due course.

The complete list of 71 countries and territories from this moment will be:

Andorra, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bermuda, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burundi, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Curaçao, Ecuador, Eswatini, Ethiopia, France, French Guiana, Georgia, Guyana, India, Iran, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Malawi, Maldives, Montenegro, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine, Pakistan, Paraguay, Panama, Peru, The Philippines, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Rwanda, Serbia, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

However we recommend that anyone considering travel to Ireland should consult the following Government website beforehand

Key contact

David Cantrell

David Cantrell

Partner, Immigration & Dispute Resolution
Dublin, Ireland

View profile